As of June 2023 210 senior policy professionals have been accepted into the fellowship-programmes.

The fellowship offers a great opportunity to establish networks with researchers as well as peers from numerous organisations.

In terms of gender our fellowship programme is very balanced (female fellows: 54%; male fellows: 46%).

Types of organisations

Which organisations have sent fellows to the programme?

European Commission

  • DG Climate Action
  • DG Economic and Financial Affairs
  • DG Energy
  • DG Environment
  • DG Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union
  • DG Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs
  • DG International Cooperation and Development
  • DG Joint Research Centre
  • DG Mobility and Transport
  • DG Research and Innovation
  • European Fiscal Board
  • European Research Council
  • Innovation and Networks Executive Agency 
  • Spokesperson`s Service

International Organisations and foreign ministries  

  • British Embassy Berlin
  • European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
  • OECD
  • Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)
  • UN Environment Programme (UNEP)
  • World Bank
  • Federal Chancellery
  • Federal Foreign Office
  • Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices
  • Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport
  • Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action
  • Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
  • Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • Federal Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth
  • Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Federal Ministry of Health
  • Federal Ministry of the Interior and Community
  • Federal Ministry of Justice
  • Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs
  • Federal Employment Agency
  • Federal Financial Supervisory Authority
  • Federal Office of Consumer Protection and Food Safety
  • German Bundestag
  • German Central Bank
  • Office of the Federal President
  • Bavarian State Representation to the EU
  • Bavarian State Ministry of the Environment and Consumer Protection
  • Bavarian State Chancellery
  • Hessian Ministry of Culture
  • Hessian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Energy, Transport and Housing
  • Hessian Ministry of Environment, Climate Protection, Agriculture and Consumer Protection
  • Hessian Ministry of Finance
  • Hessian Ministry for Science and Art
  • Hessian Ministry of the Interior and Sports
  • Hessian State Chancellery
  • Innovation Agency Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Ministry of Economy, Transport, Agriculture and Viniculture Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Ministry of Finance of Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Ministry of Justice of Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs, Transformation and Digitalisation of Rhineland-Palatinate 
  • Ministry of Science and Health of Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Ministry for Economic Affairs, Labour and Housing (Baden-Wuerttemberg)
  • Ministry for Environment, Agriculture, Conservation and Consumer Protection of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia
  • Ministry for Science, Research and Culture of the State of Brandenburg
  • Represenation of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia to the EU
  • Senate Department for Education, Youth and Family (Berlin)
  • Senate Department for the Environment, Transport and Climate Protection (Berlin)
  • State Ministry of Rhineland-Palatinate
  • State Parliament of Brandenburg
  • State Parliament of Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Thuringian Ministry for Economic Affairs, Science and Digital Society
  • Bread for the World (Brot für die Welt)
  • Care Deutschland e.V.
  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
  • Deutsche Welthungerhilfe e.V.
  • Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland
  • German Academic Exchange Service
  • German Red Cross
  • Germanwatch e.V.
  • IG Metall
  • Kindernothilfe e. V.
  • Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung e.V.
  • Malteser Hilfsdienst e.V./ Malteser International
  • Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e.V.
  • Naturschutzbund Deutschland e.V.
  • Stiftung Warentest
  • Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft e.V.
  • Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes e.V.
  • Verbraucherzentrale Bundesverband e.V.
  • Wellcome Trust

  • Berliner Zeitung
  • Hessischer Rundfunk
  • Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk (MDR)
  • Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR)
  • Sueddeutsche Zeitung
  • Suedwestrundfunk
  • Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR)
  • Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (ZDF)

Our Fellows by Year

Note: Organisation and position at time of application for the fellowship.

Funded by

Organised by



Mercator Science-Policy
Fellowship-Programme Office

Erasmus+ ENGAGEgreen Programm Office

Research Support
Goethe University Frankfurt

Eschersheimer Landstr. 121
D-60322 Frankfurt/Main
IKB-Building (room 5330)

Mailing address:
Theodor-W.-Adorno-Platz 1 D-60629 Frankfurt/Main

Phone: +49 (0)69 798 12132 / 12135
Email: science-policy@uni-frankfurt.de