Departments of the faculty of Geosciences and Geography

Department of Geosciences

The Department of Geosciences includes Geology, Geophysics, Mineralogy and Paleontology, and works in close collaboration with the Technische Universität Darmstadt and the Senckenberg Research Institute.


Department for Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences

The Department for Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences uses experimental, theoretical and modeling approaches to improve the understanding of physical and chemical processes in the Earth’s atmosphere and the environment.


Department of Human Geography

The four main research areas at the Department of Human Geography are economic geography, urban studies, mobility studies and human-environment relations, with a special focus on processes of globalization.


Department of Physical Geography

The Department’s expertise lies in humans’ interaction with their terrestrial environment, and the impact of global change on these interactions.